Books: The Fallen World

Praise for the Fallen World books:
“A great science fiction detective story” – Ian Watson, author of The Universal Machine
Cutting edge speculative fiction” – Ernest Hogan, author of Cortez on Jupiter
Sharply erudite, with the vicious tang of cordite” – Paul Morris, author of Time Traveller Danny and the Codebreaker

The Fallen World Books include both novels and short fiction.

The novels provide the spine of the series and feature Gat Burroughs.

The short fiction gets into the details of the Fallen World, and while Gat Burroughs appears in some of the books others shine a spotlight on characters who are secondary in the novels.

All the The Fallen World Books are available through these outlets:

A list of current and upcoming The Fallen World Books follows the synopsis.

The Fallen World, a Brief Synopsis:

The Fall was not so much an apocalypse as the implosion of a political and economic empire centered in the United States, accompanied by a social collapse. The impact of the Fall was uneven, so that while Canada and much of the central U.S. regressed to pre-technological Grey Zones, many of the states and major cities on both coasts and along the border with Mexico have emerged as enclaves, nations in their own right. The enclaves have largely maintained their technical infrastructure, although in the emergency of the Fall they abandoned many of the niceties of democratic government — politics is characterized by the unremitting pragmatism of realpolitik.

The protagonist in the Fallen World novels is Gat Burroughs. Gat’s parents were killed and he was mortally injured in an accident in the late 21st century. His parents were beyond help, but they held an insurance and health services policy that provided for Gat to be preserved in stasis until such time — if it ever came — that his injuries could be treated. The policy was auto-financing, based on an investment portfolio, thus keeping Gat intact but unconscious, until he was resuscitated in the 2240s, after the Fall.

Unfortunately, the policy made no provision for Gat’s livelihood after his resucitation. In a world sharply divided between the wealthy and the poor, with a slim middle class clinging in between, Gat takes the time-honored route of the ambitious poor and enlists in the California National Forces in order to acquire skills that will allow him to make a living. This means being decanted into a new shell, a synthetic human body, and in this case one optimized for military service. It also means taking part in operations that leave Gat with a guilty conscience and a head full of bad dreams that frequently invade his waking life.

After being honorably discharged Gat started his own security and investigation company and despite everything he’s determined to make a life in this new world in a way that will allow him to live with himself and maybe even to atone for some of his sins.

A Brief Note on Ebook Classification:

For convenience, all of my fiction is classified according to the categories established by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (regardless of genre), as below. Page counts use the standard editing page length of 250 words — the actual number of ebook pages is determined by your ebook reader.

Novel: 40,000 words or more (160+ pages)
Novella: 17,500-39,999 words (70-159 pages)
Novelette: 7,500-17,499 words (30-69 pages)
Short story: under 7,500 words (up to 29 pages)

Luck and Death at the Edge of the World
(The Fallen World — Book 1)

A great science fiction detective story featuring a classic noir detective, a fading super-star, a nymphomaniac, and an AI who channels Alan Turing, the father of computing, all set in a dystopian future that is familiar yet fascinatingly strange – what more could you want?”
– Ian Watson, author of The Universal Machine: From the Dawn of Computing to Digital Consciousness

Luck and Death at the Edge of the World is a science fiction novel set in Los Angeles and Mexico City. It is now available for instant download here and through my Amazon Author Page.

Luck and Death at the Edge of the World - click image to see it on

Luck and Death at the Edge of the World – click image to see it on


Security specialist Gat Burroughs died once, and he’ll be damned if he lets it happen again. Unfortunately, somebody is determined to kill his client, a washed-up star named Max Prince, and isn’t afraid to go through Gat to do it.

Is it Max’s debauched granddaughter and heir? Is it the deadly Suerte y Muerte, a cult that kills to steal good luck? Is it Max’s own lawyer and manager, James Jerome?

And how on earth did the would-be assassin get past Max Prince’s top-grade AI, the one that’s adopted the likeness of computer pioneer Alan Turing?

Gat will have to follow the clues through L.A.’s underworld, the slums of Mexico City, and his own guilty past to find the surprising answer.

Visit the Luck and Death home page, where you can find a Luck and Death video, read the first three chapters for free, and find bonus materials including music.

Felon and the Judas Kiss
(The Fallen World — Book 2)

The second Fallen World book is Felon and the Judas Kiss, a novelette that explores an incident that’s mentioned in Luck and Death without any details being given.

Felon and the Judas Kiss - click image to see it on

Felon and the Judas Kiss – click image to see it on


Dave “Felon” Fellows is a cheerful sadist. He thrived in the California National Forces, especially the civilian pacification incursion into Tijuana.

Calvin Hearn lost his mind in the brutal Tijuana operation and though he’s recovered since then he’s still haunted — awake or asleep — by the ghosts of the massacre.

Now Felon is an LAPD officer, while Hearn is a pastor ministering to the Angeleno homeless, and both are at the center of events that could tear the city apart.


Los Angeles Honey
(The Fallen World — Book 3)

Los Angeles Honey is a novella.  Sunshine, sleaze, and cyborg bugs. The future is noir.

Los Angeles Honey - coming in 2013

Los Angeles Honey – coming in 2013


Gat Burroughs doesn’t take domestic cases–they’re messy and people with broken marriages sometimes have more pressing things to think about than paying the investigator. But when Brian Forget’s wife shows up at his office, he makes an exception.

Gat and LAPD Officer Dave Fellows–known informally as Felon for his cheerful sadism–gave Forget a hard time during a previous case even though he hadn’t done anything wrong.

There wasn’t really a choice if Gat wanted to save his client’s life–and his own. Now, though, he feels just a little bit guilty.

The problem is that in this case almost nothing is what it seems and rather than making up for old sins, Gat’s involvement may end up getting Brian Forget killed.

The only way to stop that from happening is by solving the big, bad, very dangerous case that lurks behind the simple domestic one.


In the Empire of the Monkey King

(The Fallen World — Book 004)

The second full-length Fallen World novel will be In the Empire of the Monkey King, available in 2014.

In the Empire of the Monkey King - coming in 2013

In the Empire of the Monkey King – coming in 2013

Synopsis: coming soon!


Not Afraid of Spiders
(The Fallen World — Book 5)

Not Afraid of Spiders is set to be the fifth Fallen World book. It will be a work of short fiction available in 2014.

Not Afraid of Spiders - coming in 2013

Not Afraid of Spiders – coming in 2013

Synopsis: coming soon!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s